Maitland Tower 1243 County Road 2, Augusta, ON K0E 1P0

maitland Tower

HippoCampus

Our

History

The Maitland tower

The Maitland Tower is a historically significant 13+ acre site on the St. Lawrence Seaway, along Highway 2.  It is located about 100 kms south of Ottawa, 100 kms east of Kingston, and 200 kms west of Montréal.

The Maitland Tower is a historically significant 13+ acre site on the St. Lawrence Seaway, along Highway 2. 

It is located about 100 kms  south ofOttawa, 100 kms east of Kingston, and 200 kms west of Montréal. One of the five buildings on the property is an iconic 80ft stone tower built in 1828. In 2016 Philip Ling purchased the eastern 6+ acre section of the property, and has spent the ensuing time learning about the history of the site, the local community, and structurally restoring the tower and one other stone building on the site. 

In 2019 he purchased the western portion of the site to reconnect the whole point as one property, further honouring its history as well as reuniting and preserving the ecologically sensitive forest, wetlands, and over 675 metres of natural waterfront.The 80 foot tall stone Tower we see today is a local landmark with a rich history. But it is literally a shell of its former self.  Built as a windmill by George Longley in 1826- 1828, the tower once had a nose cone on top, to which were attached 60-foot blades or sails — 120 feet from tip to tip, which powered a grist (flour) mill with wind power. 

However, less than a decade later, the windmill sails were removed after years of insufficient and erratic wind. The windmill was replaced by a steam engine imported from England, and powered by seemingly endless local wood, it provided steady power to the mill, enabling it to grow to the 2nd largest in the colonies behind the mill in Toronto (now famous Distillery District).  At that time, the tower was surrounded by cluster of buildings and an 80 ft chimney, almost all of which were demolished by 1909. 

Although a hollow shell today, the Tower is still amazing outside and in. The Tower is currently under renovation, with the goal of opening for its 200th birthday in 1828, and returning to play an active role in the community. 

new owners old values

 A new chapter begins…. In October 2016, the Tower and surrounding riverfront property was purchased by Slowtime Ventures Inc. (renamed Maitland Tower Corp.), a company owned by the Ling Family Trust).

Interestingly, the owners Philip Ling & Linda Frenette-Ling have roots that reflect the history of the property. 

Philip has the loyalist roots, born in England, of Scottish and English parents, emigrating with his parents and brother to Montreal Canada in 1963, While soaking in French history and language while in French elementary school, Linda has the French roots, with her Acadian parents from Petit Rocher in New Brunswick.

The Maitland Tower HippoCampus mission is a bold and transformational one. We acknowledge it being a symbol of colonial roots, and unlike many developments that erase what came before, we will build on it.  

We will build on shoulders of the rich history of the past 200 years by “Leading while Remembering”, which is our tag line.  In this way, this amazing place, with its iconic tower, can play a leadership role in our community for many many years to come.

Linda Frenette-Ling and Philip ling

 To achieve this, the first step is revitalization in a way that honours history AND Nature. We are restoring the old buildings in a way that embraces the world’s greenest building standards – we are following the Living Building Challenge, where project strive for the highest level of health, equity, sustainability ,  and regenerative design.

photo album

Historic Highlights

Click On Dates To Open

2016-1973

Katherine MacGregor, grand-daughter of Peter Webster

Ran an antique shop out of the Chart House for several Years

1973-1936

Peter Webster, one of sons of Dr Webster, is inventor & entrepreneur, and founds Maitland Charts – run out of one of original Longley buildings, “Chart House”,

Roll charts, sonar paper for Navy

35 employees, some buildings added, but bulldozed when closed in 1973

1920s

 Webster Stables

Mrs Webster raises thoroughbreds, buys stallion Synorix, son of Tetrarch, belonging to Aga Khan. “Going Up” Champion Jumping Horse in Canada

Wins at Blue Bonnets, Prince of Wales Plate

Raised Wired-Haired Fox Terriers that won several events

1919

Bought by Dr. Robert Webster

Still family – sonnlaw of Mrs Chillion Jones, sister of RJ Hervey, soninlaw of George Canning Longley (son of George Longley)

Tower repairs

Roof on stone building “Chart House” next to tower

1909

Many old Pointe buildings from Distillery bays demolished, including chimney.

1873

Closes –business fails, Land reverts to Longley Estate

1868

Auctioned to Daniel Vanvalkenburg

Distillery reopened for a few years

1867

MacDonald becomes Prime Minister & is petitioned to settle the case

1865

Closed down by Revenue Canada for “irregularities”…

Prosecutor for the crown future first Prime Minister John A. MacDonald

Court case shows roughly 50% bootlegged (have PDF of proceedings), to US by boat and Quebec via Train.

1863

Borst and Halladay buy the Mill and convert it to distillery (common conversion…)

Quickly becomes #2 distillery in Upper Canada behind Toronto Gooderman & Worts

1846-1845

Erie Canal opens and British corn tariff dropped to address Irish famine, resulting in diversion of grain down through NY.

1845

Grand Trunk Railway built Montreal-Sarnia with stop in Maitland

1842

Longley Dies

Widow keeps mill running

1837

Windmill power insufficient, and at same time steam power arrives.

Longley imports first steam engine 30hp from England

Large building built between Tower and Water to house grist mill

Windmill converted to Silo

Large Wharf built to accommodate large boats to bring grain to mill, and take flour up St Lawrence to Montreal and England

Longley Mill becomes one of largest flour mill in Upper Canada (the largest by some accounts)

1828

Longley builds stone Windmill

1826

William Wells (father of Ruth Wells – wife of George Longley) gifts the Pointe and surrounding property to Longleys

Ziba Phillips & Longley are considered founders of Maitland

 

1818

sold to William Wells – Pointe au Baril + other surrounding property

1812

War of 1812

American Invasion rebuffed

Inhereted by sons David Dunham Jones and Augustus Jones 

The land the Maitland Tower Site is located on is the traditional territory of the Anishnabek, Huron-Wendat, Haudenosaunee (Iroquois), Oneida and Haudenosaunee (St Lawrence Iroquois) peoples.